Diana Chausheva has won the closely fought finale of Concertino Praga 2022

26. září 2022

The Bulgarian violinist Diana Chausheva performing Max Bruch’s Concerto for Violin and Orchestra no. 1 in G minor  won yesterday's final round of the Concertino Praga 2022 competition, which took place before a packed Dvořák Hall in the  Rudolfinum and was broadcast live on Radio Vltava. 

The gripping finale was decided by the verdict of the nine-member jury led by the pianist Pavel Gililov. Second place went to the Italian trumpeter Filippo Lombardi, third place to the Czech violinist Richard Kollert and a first grade honorary mention went to the pianist Viktor Vichev. The competition concert took place under the auspices of the Dvořák Prague festival and the soloists were accompanied by the Czech Radio Symphony Orchestra under the baton of the conductor Robert Jindra.

“I want to congratulate the laureates from this year's Concertino on their wonderful performances and their awards. I am proud of the fact that this competition, which Czechoslovak Radio established in 1966 and which has generated a wide range of internationally renowned performers, is continuing to develop dynamically, especially thanks to the joint efforts of Czech Radio and the Academy of Classical Music. The performances given by these young musicians under the auspices of the Dvořák Prague festival program have resulted in further motivation and a reward for their work and their devotion to music, which is the fundamental precondition for completing such a difficult life task. The subsequent South Bohemian Concertino Praga Festival, which Czech Radio has been organising for its laureates for 54 years, is the notional icing on the cake for the contestants,” says the Director General of Czech Radio, René Zavoral.

“I did not expect it, as the other finalists were absolutely wonderful. I feel that the important thing about the competition is that we and the jury have fun, which, I think, we managed. I am truly surprised, but very happy, because the Concertino Praga will assist me along my path and I hope that I can also inspire other young colleagues,” said Diana Chausheva shortly after the results were announced.

The winner of the 56th year of the Antonín Dvořák International Radio Competition for Young Musicians will receive a 5000 euro scholarship thanks to the support of the Karel Komárek Family Foundation. The money is designated for the winner’s further musical development or for the purchase of a musical instrument and the laureate will likewise have the opportunity to make a professional recording at the Czech Radio studios. The second-placed competitor will receive 2800 euros from the Foundation. The third-placed competitor will receive a scholarship at the amount of 1700 euros, which has been donated by the Bulb Company. Fourth place is also supported with a financial reward of 700 euros donated by the Bärenreiter Praha publishing house.

The international expert jury was chaired by the pianist Pavel Gililov and also included greats of the Czech musical scene: the pianist Ivo Kahánek, the violinist Josef Špaček, the violoncellist Tomáš Jamník and the clarinettist Irvin Venyš. However, the jury also included international names, such as the intendant at the Bamberger Symphoniker Marcus Rudolf Axt, the trumpeter Sergei Nakariakov, the clarinettist Wenzel Fuchs and the violinist Boris Brovtsyn.

The series of concerts in the South Bohemian Concertino Praga Festival is a bonus for both the finalists and other selected competitors. All of the concerts held in historical halls in Český Krumlov, Bechyně, Třeboň and Jindřichův Hradec from 19 to 23 September have been recorded or broadcast by Czech Radio’s Vltava station.

The other prizes and honorary mentions:
The Bohuslav Martinů Foundation Prize went to Nikolai Biriukov for the best performance of one of the composer’s works.

The Viktor Kalabis and Zuzana Růžičková Foundation Prize for the best performance of a piece from the 20th or 21st century was awarded to Polina Tkhay.

The prize for the most successful Czech participant was awarded to Richard Kollert.

The audience prize based on the votes cast by the audience members at the Rudolfinum (a 500 euro scholarship) went to Diana Chausheva.

More about